The Reginald S. Lourie Award

The Reginald S. Lourie Award was established by the Board of Directors of Adventist HealthCare The Lourie Center for Children's Social & Emotional Wellness in 1990. The Award provides a living tribute to the Lourie Center's beloved co-founder, the late Dr. Lourie (1908-1988) - a worldwide leader in the fields of pediatric child psychiatry and infant mental health.

The Award is given periodically to distinguished leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the health and welfare of our nation's and our community's children and families and whose accomplishments are in concert with the mission of the Lourie Center. Selection of nominees is based on outstanding contributions in any one of the following areas:

  • Development of model clinical programs for infants, children and families;
  • Research in early childhood development;
  • Influence on public policy concerning infants, children and families; or
  • Enhancement of the public's understanding of the needs of infants, children and families

View Past Reginald S. Lourie Award Recipients

Past Reginald S. Lourie Award recipients, to date, include the following distinguished individuals:

Rhoda Baruch, PhD 2009
Colbert I. King 2008
David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D. 2004
Mary Evans Robinson, PhD 2003
Katharine Pollard Maddux Memorial Mental Health Foundation 2002
Diane Bernstein 2000
Charles L. Short 1998
Lisbeth B. Schorr 1995
Tipper Gore 1994
Julius B. Richmond, MD 1992
T. Berry Brazelton, MD 1990

Lourie Center Honors

From time to time, the Lourie Center also honors distinguished individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the well-being of children and families.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Beverly Sills 1994
Dr. Cecil Green 1993

Outstanding Service Award

The Honorable Michael L. Subin, Esq. 2008
Diana Eisenstat 2006
Michael A. Brunner 2006
Evelyn Kays-Battle, MSW, LCSW 2005
Honorable Ann Brown 2002
Bob Levey 2001
Lucy Keker 2000
Marjorie H. Sonnenfeldt 1999
Honorable Chris Van Hollen, Jr. 1998
Marvin Mones, M.D. and Lillian Mones 1994

Outstanding Public Service Award

Senator Benjamin Cardin 2010
Honorable Patrick Kennedy 2009
Honorable Christopher Van Hollen, Jr. 2004

Outstanding Community Service Award

Honorable Mark K. Shriver 2009
Carol W. Garvey, MD, MPH 2005
Bank of America Foundation 2004

Outstanding Corporate Community Partner Award

Alexander and Margaret Stewart Trust 2009
Carl M. Freeman Foundation 2006
IBM Corporation 2004

We Can Help!

Is your child experiencing behavioral, emotional, or development problems that are interfering with their school activities? We can help!

Schedule a Call

Set Your Location

Setting your location helps us to show you nearby providers and locations based on your healthcare needs.